Maritime Jobs
Friday, December 1, 2023

Yang to the Helm at Singapore Shipping Assoc.

Posted by June 26, 2019

Ms. Caroline Yang, Chief Executive of Hong Lam Marine, is the first female President in SSA’s 34 years’ history  (Photo: SSA)

Ms. Caroline Yang, Chief Executive of Hong Lam Marine, is the first female President in SSA’s 34 years’ history (Photo: SSA)

The Council of the Singapore Shipping Association (SSA)—the industry voice of Singapore’s maritime community— made history by nominating the association’s first-ever female President since its founding in 1985.

At SSA’s 23rd Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 26 June 2019, the 2019/2021 Council elected Ms. Caroline Yang, Chief Executive of Hong Lam Marine, as the association’s President. Ms. Yang started her career with Hong Lam Marine as their in-house counsel in 1991, and has more than 25 years’ experience in the shipping industry.

As President of SSA, Ms. Yang will be supported by two Vice Presidents and the SSA Secretariat headed by Mr. Michael Phoon. The two Vice Presidents nominated by the 2019/2021 Council are Ms. Katie Men, Managing Director of Iseaco Investment and Mr. Rene Piil Pedersen, Managing Director of A P Moller Singapore.

Commenting on her nomination, Ms. Yang said, “I am honored by the trust the Council has placed in me by electing me as SSA President for the 2019/2020 term. The shipping community in Singapore has much to be proud of. This year, Singapore bagged the ‘Best Seaport in Asia’ for 31st time and also the ‘Best Green Seaport’ at the 2019 Asia Freight, Logistics and Supply Chain Awards. We were also recognized as the ‘Top Leading Maritime Capital of the World’ for the fourth consecutive time in a report issued by Menon Economics and DNV GL. Notwithstanding, the industry continues to face challenging conditions and digital disruptions. As we navigate into the future together, the task of the Council is to work with all stakeholders to champion Maritime Singapore, to keep SSA relevant and responsive to our members, and to encourage participation by our members in our shared goal.”

The seven Ordinary Members nominated for the 2019/2021 Council are:

Member Company                                Represented By
A P Moller Singapore Pte Ltd.              Rene Piil Pederse  (Vice President)
COSCO (Singapore) Pte Ltd                Gu Jing Song
Executive Ship Management Pte Ltd   Steen Brodsgaard Lund
Hong Lam Marine Pte Ltd                     Caroline Yang (President)
Iseaco Investment Pte Ltd                     Katie Men (Vice President)
Pacific International Lines (Pte) Ltd       Teo Teng Seng
Wallem Shipping (Singapore) Pte Ltd     Mr. Nitin Mathur

DNV GLSingaporeSingapore Shipping Association

Featured Employers

Military Sealift Command

The Military Sealift Command (MSC) is a United States Navy organization that controls most of the re


Enjoy an exciting career with NOAA’s Office of Marine and Aviation Operations!NOAA is home to the na